Category: privacy

How to Allow Apps to be Downloaded & Opened from Anywhere on MacOS Ventura

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Allow Apps to be Downloaded & Opened from Anywhere on MacOS Ventura

Wondering how you can allow apps to be downloaded and opened from anywhere on MacOS Ventura? You may have noticed the ability to select “Allow applications downloaded from anywhere” has been removed by default in macOS Ventura and other modern versions of MacOS. This does not mean it’s impossible to download and open apps from elsewhere however, and advanced users can enable this feature within System Settings if they need to on their Mac.

Note making changes to Gatekeeper has security and privacy ramifications, and is only appropriate for advanced users…

Read more: How to Allow Apps to be Downloaded & Opened from Anywhere on MacOS Ventura

How to See All Significant Locations on iPhone

Go to OSX Daily to read How to See All Significant Locations on iPhone

Your iPhone keeps track of ‘Significant Locations’, which are typically places that you frequent often, like your home, a partners house, office, school, favorite restaurant, frequented hotels, and similar other places.

If you’re interested, you can view all the Significant Locations on your iPhone to see where your iPhone has determined is significant to you. This can be interesting data for many reasons to see, and also some users rely on the feature for work purposes to show where they have gone or frequent.

How to View Significant Locations on…

Read more: How to See All Significant Locations on iPhone

How to Set Messages to Automatically Delete on iPhone or iPad

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Set Messages to Automatically Delete on iPhone or iPad

Do you want all of your Messages to automatically delete themselves after a specified time period from your iPhone or iPad? You can configure a Messages History setting that will allow for the automatic removal of message conversations after a chosen period of time.

This auto-delete Messages setting is perhaps most useful as a storage saving mechanism and should not really be considered a privacy setting for a variety of reasons, and it has some obvious downsides too, mainly that you could potentially forever lose some great memories, conversations, chat…

Read more: How to Set Messages to Automatically Delete on iPhone or iPad

How to Hard Lock an iPhone to Prevent Unauthorized Biometric Access

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Hard Lock an iPhone to Prevent Unauthorized Biometric Access

If you’re ever in a situation where you are concerned about unauthorized biometric access to your iPhone, for example, someone holding your iPhone up to your face to unlock it with Face ID, or someone forcing you to put your finger on the Touch ID sensor to unlock the iPhone, you can prevent that unauthorized access to the iPhone with a Hard Lock trick.

Hard Locking an iPhone disables the biometric access capabilities on an iPhone, like Face ID and Touch ID, forcing the iPhone to require a passcode to unlock the device. This could be theoretically useful in a…

Read more: How to Hard Lock an iPhone to Prevent Unauthorized Biometric Access

How to Enable Disappearing Messages in Facebook Messenger

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Enable Disappearing Messages in Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger now has a disappearing messages feature, which, just as it sounds, allows your messages to disappear after a period of time.

The disappearing messages feature in Facebook Messenger is similar to the feature in WhatsApp in that you can set it per message thread with each person. Let’s take a look at how this works if you’re interested in using it.

How to Enable Disappearing Messages in Facebook Messenger for iPhone

Here’s how you can set a conversation to have disappearing messages in Facebook Messenger:

  1. Open the Messenger app if you…

Read more: How to Enable Disappearing Messages in Facebook Messenger

How to Enable Encryption in Facebook Messenger

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Enable Encryption in Facebook Messenger

By default, communications through Facebook Messenger are not end-to-end encrypted, which means that theoretically another party could retrieve sensitive information from the chat if they were nefariously minded. It also means that the conversations are basically wide open for reading by Facebook and whoever has access to Facebook data.

If you’re a privacy buff (then why are you using Facebook, which is the antithesis of privacy?) you may be interested in enabling end-to-end encryption on your Facebook Messenger chats. End-to-end encryption makes it so that…

Read more: How to Enable Encryption in Facebook Messenger

Get the Privacy You Expect in Firefox Focus by Disabling These Features

Go to OSX Daily to read Get the Privacy You Expect in Firefox Focus by Disabling These Features



Firefox Focus is a great web browser for iPhone and iPad that basically defaults to being in private browsing mode, meaning there are no cookies, browsing history, or other browser data kept or maintained.

But despite being a privacy centric browser, Firefox Focus defaults to sending browser usage data to Mozilla, along with a studies feature that may share browser data as well. If you’re expecting to use Firefox Focus with privacy in mind, you’d probably want to disable those two settings on iOS or iPadOS.

How to Disable Sending Usage Data & Studies in…

Read more: Get the Privacy You Expect in Firefox Focus by Disabling These Features

How to Remove a Person from the Sharing Menu on iPhone

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Remove a Person from the Sharing Menu on iPhone

When you go to share a photo, link, or anything else on iPhone, you’ll notice that the iPhone will have a list of suggested contacts to share things with. Often these sharing suggestions are helpful and people you do in fact regularly communicate with, but sometimes someone will appear that you just don’t want to see, share things with, or be reminded of. Maybe it’s your boss, an ex, an unpleasant person, a coworker, or someone else you just don’t want showing up in your suggested sharing menu on your iPhone, so let’s fix that.

Let’s take a look at how…

Read more: How to Remove a Person from the Sharing Menu on iPhone

Set Telegram Account to Automatically Self Destruct and Delete Itself

Go to OSX Daily to read Set Telegram Account to Automatically Self Destruct and Delete Itself

Did you know you can set your Telegram account to self destruct, automatically deleting itself after a set amount of time if you don’t login to it?

If you’re a privacy and security buff and you’re looking to gain a unique additional layer of privacy with Telegram, you can set your Telegram account to delete itself after no activity has been detected in 1 month, 3 months, 6 months, or 12 months. For example, if you choose one month, and you don’t sign into your Telegram account in a month, the account will automatically delete itself, including all…

Read more: Set Telegram Account to Automatically Self Destruct and Delete Itself

How to Remove Password from Pages, Numbers, & Keynote Files from iPhone or iPad

Go to OSX Daily to read How to Remove Password from Pages, Numbers, & Keynote Files from iPhone or iPad

Need to remove a password from an iWork document? Do you find it inconvenient to open password-protected Pages, Keynote, and Numbers documents? Do you no longer need password protection on a particular iWork file? You’re certainly not alone in that regard, and fortunately it’s quite simple to remove a password from any Pages, Numbers, or Keynote file, making them easy to open and removing the encryption from the files.

Sure, adding a password to your iWork documents protects it from prying eyes. But, this security comes at the cost of convenience. Not…

Read more: How to Remove Password from Pages, Numbers, & Keynote Files from iPhone or iPad