How to Delete All Emails in a Gmail Account

Have you ever wanted to delete every email from a Gmail account? Maybe you want to permanently delete every email message in Gmail to start fresh, or maybe you’re giving a Gmail account to someone else, or you just want to clear every email from a Gmail account for whatever the reason.

If you want to completely delete every single email message in a Gmail inbox you can do so through the Google Mail web client, and this tutorial will show you how to do just that.


Note this is specifically for the Gmail web client and Gmail message. It is permanent and you can not undo the deletion process. Also be aware that Gmail has a large and ever-growing storage capacity for gmail, and so for most users there is little reason to delete all their emails from Gmail. If you simply want to remove an email account from iOS on your iPhone, iPad, or from Mail on Mac, that is a completely different process. Likewise if you simply want to delete all the emails on an iOS device, that is different too, as is deleting all emails from Mail on Mac. Simply removing emails from a email client is totally different from removing them from the Gmail server. If you don’t know what you’re doing or why you’re doing it, it’s best not to delete all Gmail email message.

How to Delete All Emails from a Gmail Account

Warning: this permanently removes all messages from a Gmail account, if you delete every gmail email there is no way to recover them. Only delete all Google Mail email messages if you are absolutely certain you never want to see, use, access, or retrieve any of the emails in that gmail account ever again.

  1. Open your web browser of choice from any computer
  2. Go to https://gmail.com and login to the Gmail account you wish to delete all emails within
  3. Gmail

  4. Click the little select box pulldown option near the top of the Gmail inbox
  5. How to delete all Gmail emails

  6. Choose “All” from the dropdown selection list to select all email messages on the current Gmail screen
  7. How to delete all Gmail emails

  8. Wait a moment and you will see a notification at the top of the screen saying something along the lines of “All 50 conversations on this page are selected.” with a secondary option alongside that saying “Select all (number of) conversations in inbox” – choose that latter option to select every single email in the Gmail inbox
  9. How to delete ALL Gmail emails from Google mail account

  10. Now with all emails selected in Gmail, choose the Trash button to delete every single email message from that Gmail account
  11. Choose to delete all selected emails in Gmail

That’s it, every single selected email in the active Gmail inbox will be deleted. Since you chose the option to “Select all conversations in inbox” , that means every single email in the gmail account will be deleted.

In the example here, over 37,000 emails are selected. Deleting that many emails from a Gmail account can take a while to complete.

Note there is no way to cancel this method, nor is there any way to undo this deletion of emails. It is permanent.

If you have multiple Gmail accounts be sure you have selected the proper gmail account, since the set default gmail account may not be the one you wish to remove all emails from.

You can also use variations of this selection trick to trash only matching messages for specific search parameters, for specific persons, email addresses, subjects, and read or unread email messages too.

If you enjoyed this Google Mail tip, you may like to check out some other Gmail tips too.

Source: OSX Daily