Facebook may be the worlds largest social network, but it’s also no stranger to controversy. Whether you’re just tired of Facebook, or even just tired of hearing about the never ending various controversies and how they may impact you, one simple solution is to delete your Facebook account.
Deleting a Facebook account is permanent and irreversible. Once you delete a Facebook account, that’s it, there’s no more Facebook for you, and all related photos, posts, messages, and other data will no longer be available to you – unless you sign up again of course.
Though the process of permanently deleting a Facebook account can be initiated rather easily, the option to do so isn’t found in any settings or options on the site or within the Facebook app, instead it’s found in a “Help” section on their website.
So, you’ve had enough of Facebook? Then here’s how to ditch your account for good.
How to Delete Your Facebook Account, Permanently
Before deleting your Facebook account, you might want to download a copy of your personal data that was stored on the Site. You can find Facebooks instructions to download your Facebook data here if interested. If you don’t download your personal data, then it will not be available to you after you have deleted the account.
- Open any web browser and go to the Facebook “delete account” page found here
- Click on the “Delete Account” button
- Authenticate with your Facebook account login and password, and confirm with the CAPTCHA and then click “OK”
- Confirm that you want to delete the Facebook account
Once you say goodbye to your Facebook account, it will take up to a few weeks to completely delete the account for some reason. Don’t try to log back in during that time otherwise the account will reactivate apparently.
And that’s it, once deleted you’ll no longer have a Facebook account. You’ll now have to use homing pigeons, smoke signals, and morse code to have a conversation with your friends and family, or just pick up the phone and make a call or send a text message… whatever works for you.
Next you’ll probably want to uninstall the Facebook app from your iPhone or iPad so that it’s not sitting around taking up storage space, or tempting you with its presence.
And if you’re just deciding to ditch social media in general, you can delete your Snapchat account and delete your Instagram account too while you’re at it!